Magic, Bird to receive NBA Lifetime Achievement Awards


FILE PHOTO: Apr 17, 2019; Boston, MA, USA; Former Boston Celtics player Larry Bird in the stands during the first half in game two of the first round of the 2019 NBA Playoffs against the Indiana Pacers at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

NBA legends Magic Johnson and Larry Bird will once again share center stage when they receive the NBA’s Lifetime Achievement Award on June 24.

The award comes 40 years after Johnson led Michigan State to the NCAA championship in a 75-64 win over Bird’s Indiana State team on March 26, 1979.

Their matchups as the central figures in the historic Lakers-Celtics rivalry, combined with the emergence of Michael Jordan, re-energized the NBA in the 1980s.

Johnson and Bird each won three NBA Most Valuable Player awards and were selected to nine All-NBA first teams and 12 All-Star games. Both are enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as individual players and as part of the 1992 Olympic “Dream Team.”

Johnson, 59, won five NBA championships in 13 seasons with the Los Angeles Lakers. Bird, 62, won three titles in his 13 years with the Boston Celtics.

They will be honored at the 2019 NBA Awards show in Los Angeles. Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are Bill Russell (2017) and Oscar Robertson (2018).

—Field Level Media

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Exclusive: Exxon eyes UK North Sea exit after 50-year presence – sources
Japan urges more than 300,000 to evacuate as storm Krosa nears
New Trump rule targets poor and could cut legal immigration in half, advocates say
Epstein co-conspirators ‘should not rest easy,’ says U.S. AG Barr
U.S. grants Huawei another 90 days to buy from American suppliers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *